emeraldblaze
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
allanon
mawce
darqueangel
Monkeypants2
heysweetie
nikolaos
staarynight
catz-eyes
peasantwench
eyore25
just--jenn
razorblade--
jeven
krys-
psychik
alanajar
ebm
rayofmemory
frigglefritz
watty
hungryghost
kylaia
ghostofgor
notalptrixie
spot-4-blaze

CyberBytes
October 27, 2002, 1:28 PM

Insanity/Depression/Anxiety Disorders have seemed to have taken reign in my observances lately. Now, more than ever, I see why this country has been labeled Prozac nation. An article recently was titled: "Ritalin, Zoloft, and Prozac Common at Schools." It had a quote from student who was mentally "addicted" to the effects of Zoloft, stating: "Zoloft helps me to think and to concentrate while I study." Well, hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm..... It is interesting to note some of the statistics surrounding the use of antidepressants and/or stimulants for people with documented neuroses, psychoses, and depression. If we take a look at the pre-Prozac boom, people were very seldom put on any type of mind-altering drugs. Lithium, frontal lobotomies, etc. phased out a while ago, and things seemed to be in limbo for a bit. . . then came the "wonder drug" and its spin-offs galore ( along with the decline of a nation's coping skills).

Interestingly enough, I have several points I�d like to address:
1) People totally lack coping skills as of late,
2) We use drugs as crutches to deal better with our problems, or at least to hide from them for the moment to avoid coping,
3) There are few people that have a "definitive" need for PSMEDS (psychologically stabilizing medications), and doctors are over-prescribing drugs so as to not have to deal with the definite problems of their patients, and, lastly and most importantly,
4) People seem not to be able to take responsibility of themselves and thus attribute it to the medications that they are taking, or attribute it to the fact that they aren't taking any and should be.



I know and have seen people with true organic mental disorders that definitely need medications along the Prozac family to live a comfortable life, but I also know that drugs and their effects on the mind have almost become a fad in the world today. The excuse these days that scares and infuriates is: "I'm insane, therefore I can say/do/act/feel anyway that I please." My response is: "How 'bout no, my friend. DEAL WITH IT! WE ALL HAVE PROBLEMS AT SOME POINT THAT ARE HARD WITH WHICH TO COPE. Pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and start all over again. Or find a way in which is less harmful to those around you" But, until my philosophy comes into being, use the following form to dismiss yourself from acting according to the social norm:

To Whom It May Concern:

I am not a true adult. I only look like one. I am easily influenced and have no will of my own. Everything bad/evil/socially unacceptable things I do, think, and or feel is the responsibility of (check as many as apply):

[ ] The Christian Coalition
[ ] Music/especially Marilyn Manson
[ ] William Pierce
[ ] God
[ ] The Government
[ ] My father
[ ] My mother
[ ] Both of my parents
[ ] My "queer" uncle/neighbour/minister/priest/coach/scoutmaster/friend, etc.
[ ] One or more of my teachers
[ ] Everybody who failed to nurture (spoil) me as a child
[ ] My spouse
[ ] My co-workers/boss
[ ] Those who are not my race/religion/political convictions/moral< convictions (no matter how far in left field they may be!)
[ ] All of the above
[ ] None of the above, but I'll think of somebody
[ ] Some dumbass person who screwed me over years ago to whom I cannot let go

I am, however, totally responsible for all the good/saintly/socially commendable things I do/think/feel.
(signed) _______________________________________________

Anywho, that about does it for this update. I hope that I adequately offended enough people, and also gave some food for thought to many more. These two topics are things which have run through my mind at some point, and will most likely remain there for a long time to come. I should also add that diaryland isn't in any way responsible for my ideas, and they are totally a product of either my pet peeves or some messed up part of society that I want to bring into the light.

last - next