emeraldblaze
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
allanon
mawce
darqueangel
Monkeypants2
heysweetie
nikolaos
staarynight
catz-eyes
peasantwench
eyore25
just--jenn
razorblade--
jeven
krys-
psychik
alanajar
ebm
rayofmemory
frigglefritz
watty
hungryghost
kylaia
ghostofgor
notalptrixie
spot-4-blaze

Dear Grandpa Chuck
August 27, 2002, 10:20 AM

Today is the day of the funeral, I was asked to speek, so knowing me I waiting till this morning to write out what I was going to say. I thought I'd post it here.

Dear Grandpa Chuck,

Hi. I was looking through my computer trying to find things to say today, and I ran across many a thank you letter I had written to you, for Christmas, birthday, or parties. I thought to myself �how about just one more letter, for the road.�

So I want to thank you for hitting me at the table and letting me hit you back. Thank you for the songs when I was little. To this day I never think of bears in the same way. Thank you for cheating at family games, all the silly nick names, the jokes and taking your teeth out. Thank you for making me laugh.

You were there for so many of my firsts and I thank you for that. Comments on my �equipment�, first kisses, boyfriends, zits, �war paint� (hey, I was proud to wear makeup). There will be many a first that you�re going to miss too. Though you were there to see me leave high school, I�ll miss your face at my university graduation, I won�t be able to ask you about classes, things I should take, or places I should go. I was happy that you noticed I wasn�t smiling as much when my boyfriend was away, and laughed when you say �tell him to hurry home, you can sparkle again� and I�m sad that you can�t see me married one day.

Thank you again for all these wonderful things, I remember. I know I�m not the only one with one last thank you �letter�. Please listen to theirs as you have to mine.

I�ll miss you Grandpa, we all will, but you�ve left us with so many fond memories I just know that these sad tears will be brief and the laughter will go on.

I love you very much,
Stephanie
XXOO





Just as I have written a final letter to my Grandpa. I found an anonymously written poem in A 5th Portion of Chicken Soup for the Soul entitled �To Those I Love� I believe that this poem conveys the final thoughts and wishes my Grandpa Chuck would have shared with us.





To Those I Love

When I am gone, release me, and let me go. I have so many things to see and do. You mustn't tie yourself to me with tears. Be happy that we had so many years. I gave you my love. You can only guess how much you gave to me in happiness. I thank you for the love you have shown, but now it's time I traveled on alone. So grieve awhile for me, if grieve you must. Then let your grief be comforted by trust it�s only for awhile that we must part, so bless the memories within your heart. I won't be far away, for life goes on. So if you need me, call and I will hear though you can't see or touch me, I'll be near... And if you listen with your heart, you'll hear all of my love around you soft and clear. And then, when you must come this way alone, I'll greet you with a smile and welcome you home.


last - next