emeraldblaze
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
allanon
mawce
darqueangel
Monkeypants2
heysweetie
nikolaos
staarynight
catz-eyes
peasantwench
eyore25
just--jenn
razorblade--
jeven
krys-
psychik
alanajar
ebm
rayofmemory
frigglefritz
watty
hungryghost
kylaia
ghostofgor
notalptrixie
spot-4-blaze

University Toilet Cubicle
December 10, 2002, 3:42 PM

One of the first things I noticed during my transition between high school and university, was the university's interesting use for the insides of the cubicles in the bathrooms. Where at high school, the artwork used to read along the lines of "Liam 4 Hayley", "I love Daniel B" or "Jessica is a carrot", university graffiti brings this artistic custom to a new level.

When I first arrived, my favourite cubicle's reading matter consisted of many quotes on the meaning of life, the theory behind yin and yang, and the entire history of feng shui. There must have been years worth of students' words of wisdom in there, and it was a terrible day when, in the week before the university open day, the painters where in slapping thick green paint over my beloved favourite stall.

Within the following week, however, a fascinating trend emerged in the energetic words filling the new blank canvas. Surrounding me now on every side of my favourite cubicle were cries for help and advice. Words along the lines of "My boyfriend dumped me, how can I get over him?", "I have been coming in here for the past 3 months to purge, now I'm scared of dying, what should I do?" and "Does anyone have any advice on how I can stop self-mutilating?"

While at first I was deeply saddened by what I was reading, what was to follow within the next few days was heartening. From all sorts of people from all over the university came caring words of advice and new messages to bring hope and happiness. Blue ballpoint pens and think black textas scrawled several perspectives on the situation at hand in varying handwriting styles, and before long the stall was again filled with sweet philosophical words.

I think toilet walls prove this about the human race and I think it's comforting to know that there is always someone who will reach out to you, even a complete stranger.

Later Days
Blaze

last - next