emeraldblaze
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
allanon
mawce
darqueangel
Monkeypants2
heysweetie
nikolaos
staarynight
catz-eyes
peasantwench
eyore25
just--jenn
razorblade--
jeven
krys-
psychik
alanajar
ebm
rayofmemory
frigglefritz
watty
hungryghost
kylaia
ghostofgor
notalptrixie
spot-4-blaze

strees poems
November 22, 2003, 11:09 PM

STRESS


What's that stiffness in my neck?
Feel that lump come in my throat
Stomach dropping to my knees
Feel like I just missed the boat

Panic rising to my head
Heartbeat racing, breathing fast
Can I do it? Will I fail
How long will these feelings last?

Apprehension overwhelms
Nervous twitching, fingers curled
Tension headache, aching back
All these symptoms now unfurled

Now my body's overun
Hormones racing from my glands
Must release it, let it out
How to do it's in my hands

Lost our way of fight or flight
Stored up anger, unreleased
Words and shouting flung about
Now it's time that raging ceased

Relaxation, that's the key
Integration of the mind
Exercise, good food to eat
Leave those worries far behind

Hold that stress out at arm's length
Draw it, write it, let it go
Roll it in a little ball
Throw it out, release that woe

Find the tools you have inside
Make a choice to be serene
Welcome stress, become its friend
Don't put life in quarantine.

Copyright � Sharon K. 2000

TAKING ITS TOLL

I grieve, I hurt, I harm myself
Don't know which way to go
Rehash the past, relive the pain
I want to let it go
Please help me, hold me, understand
My memory is marred
By sadness, overwhelming me
Emotions really scarred
Anxiety attacks again
Then fear, loss of control
The loss of life, so truly loved
In time, sure takes its toll.

Copyright � Sharon K. 2001

last - next