emeraldblaze
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
allanon
mawce
darqueangel
Monkeypants2
heysweetie
nikolaos
staarynight
catz-eyes
peasantwench
eyore25
just--jenn
razorblade--
jeven
krys-
psychik
alanajar
ebm
rayofmemory
frigglefritz
watty
hungryghost
kylaia
ghostofgor
notalptrixie
spot-4-blaze

People watching and too much usage of the word "odd"
April 10, 2002, 1:47 PM

Well I spent the morning sitting at a table in the long hallway between SS and the admin, you know just outside the first cup. I did not bring my bag, as I did not have any classes today I was waiting for my meeting you know with the associate dean of the faculty of humanities the meeting was at 9:20 AM and I was at the UofC at around 8:20 AM.

I was doing people watching, and it has been a long time since I did that, I forgot how much fun it could be. It is very empty there in the morning, and I knew that not but two hours later it will be packed with people.

Most of the people there were single people like me, one person to a table. One of the tables has a meeting of some sort going on; two of the tables have friends talking, in semi quite voices. The majority looked like they were studying or doing homework etc. most had food and/or coffee, two people were sleeping, and a few like myself or sitting there in our own silent stupor.

There were three singles, all guys, at three tables to the bow my vision. One was eating, one was half studying, and one just sitting, appearing to drink in the morning to the same effect as he was sipping his coffee. All of them kept LOOKING at me, this was most odd, especially the guy with the book. This fellow was most odd, he looked up every time someone would walk past and if that is someone happened to be female, he would fix his eyes on her, and with the movement of his whole heads included watch the girl walk the length of the corridor. His stare had just look of desperate hunger, and this both frightened the willies out of me, and intrigued me. Why was he looking like last? Why did he keep looking at me? What was he thinking? Although I knew the answer to that one, which was reconfirmed due to the fact that when this is very good-looking female in grey sweater, wonderful fitting jeans, with red- brown hair that was tucked into a headscarf, walked up to the garbage can near his table, he happened to slide his hands into his pockets. This was very amusing, but I must say he really freaked me out, very much after that.

After he left and I move seats, (due to the fact the little green seats were hurting my bottom) I still had 20 to 25 minutes left to wait before my meeting. I was getting bored, but I did not think any of the people who I would love to talk to, would be around this point. I kept looking at the first cup trying to make up my mind if I had enough money to buy anything. A coffee? Some tea? It just a little something to eat? Maybe a muffin? A bag of chips? Perhaps I would just walk in and have a look. This was not much fun but in doing that; I had killed another 10 minutes.

It was now a 10 to15 minute wait, before my meeting at 9:20 AM.

By this time there was much less people sitting at tables with a nice level had increased tenfold, it was odd.

I saw an old friend from elementary. She had been one of my best friends, but she was a year older than I was, and I did not go to the same junior high. You know how those things happen. We did not say anything but I do not think she had even seen me, but it was an odd moment.

5 to 10 minutes left to go

Looked at all the posters and thought my own little things. Why do they put up 10 to 20 of the same poster five times over again on a wall? Who cleans all of them off the board? Do any of them even work?

I watched people I knew and liked walk by, people I knew it did not really care for, and people I just knew.

Five minutes to go

I had started thinking it was time to get up and head for my meeting. I thought about what I was going to say, I wondered if the dean was a he or a she. I looked at my watching thought� it is time

To be continued�.

last - next