emeraldblaze
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
allanon
mawce
darqueangel
Monkeypants2
heysweetie
nikolaos
staarynight
catz-eyes
peasantwench
eyore25
just--jenn
razorblade--
jeven
krys-
psychik
alanajar
ebm
rayofmemory
frigglefritz
watty
hungryghost
kylaia
ghostofgor
notalptrixie
spot-4-blaze

My Mom!!
May 05, 2002, 1:27 p.m.

Book Review: Teen Witch

Dateline: 04/25/99

Image of Teen Witch cover
Image courtesy of Llewellyn Press
Teen Witch is not a brand-new book � it's been out since 1998 � but it broaches a subject long gone ignored in the scope of Wiccan and pagan literature. As the title suggests, it's written for the burgeoning population of teenagers and young people interested in Wicca and neo-paganism.

There's a good reason for the dearth of books written for younger audiences: continued misconceptions about pagans make us an easy target for adults and parents who would accuse us of trying to "recruit" their children. Silver addresses that issue in a preface written just for parents.

In her preface to teenagers, she blasts misconceptions of another kind: that being a witch is not about dressing in black, wearing pentacles in obvious places, or scaring your classmates with hexes and curses.

The bulk of the book introduces the fundamentals of pagan ethics and spirituality, emphasizing respect for all kinds of spiritual traditions and the law of returns, before going on to explain the Sabbats, ritual, and the concept of sacred space. Silver, herself a family traditionalist with roots in Pennsylvania Dutch folk magic, sticks mainly to Wiccan traditions, but also makes suggestions for other, less controversial kinds of pagan spirituality, including praying to guardian angels and using rosary beads for spellwork.

She also uses examples of actual teen pagans using Wicca to better their lives.

Refreshing in its language, this book is a great resource for teens and adults alike who would like to learn more about Wiccan and pagan practices. Some teens may find her tone a bit condescending at times, but no more so than that of an older teacher speaking her pupils. And the spells and rituals outlined in the book are designed especially for teens and the issues they face.

Silver RavenWolf is the author of a host of titles from Llewellyn Press, including To Stir a Magick Cauldron, To Ride a Silver Broomstick, To Light a Sacred Flame, and her latest, Silver's Spells for Prosperity. Visit her on the Web at www.silverravenwolf.com/.

Looking for other books on Wicca and paganism? Check out my bookstore for titles and reviews.




----

Now do you see anything wrong with this book? I can't, not even if I had "problems" with wicca (which I most 100% do not!!!) but my mother is being such an ASS again.

ok so here is the convo I had with Kalfalfa about her. (I'm just mad at her to much to re-vent)

---

Emerald Blaze says: AHHHHHHHHHHHH!

Emerald Blaze says:

kalfalfa says:
what??

kalfalfa says:
I'm SOOOOO mad at Kes now!!!!

Emerald Blaze says:
guess who

kalfalfa says:
your mom?

Emerald Blaze says:
why what did she do?

Emerald Blaze says:
Yup

kalfalfa says:
breaks up with Neelix and goes galavanting off with some dumbass, I LIKED them as a couple

kalfalfa says:
what did your mom do?

Emerald Blaze says:
??

Emerald Blaze says:
oh the show

Emerald Blaze says:
*smaks forhead*

Emerald Blaze says:
I get it

Emerald Blaze says:
my mom

Emerald Blaze says:
*sigh*

Emerald Blaze says:
my mom

Emerald Blaze says:
fucking peice of juck

kalfalfa says:
what happened?

Emerald Blaze says:
*sigh*

Emerald Blaze says:
more of the same

Emerald Blaze says:
she was yeling at me to be nice to her

Emerald Blaze says:
'caues her daddy is sick

Emerald Blaze says:
and he's really sick

Emerald Blaze says:
he could be dead

kalfalfa says:
on no!

Emerald Blaze says:
so I talked to her

Emerald Blaze says:
then she blew me off

kalfalfa says:
that sucks

kalfalfa says:
I'm sorry

Emerald Blaze says:
and then told me to get rid of my teen witch book

Emerald Blaze says:
caues "it makes bad things happen"

Emerald Blaze says:
I told her it wasn't up for decussion

Emerald Blaze says:
and I wasn't talking to her about any of that, becaues she won't listen

kalfalfa says:
true

Emerald Blaze says:
and know she's aticing likenone of anything was even sadi

Emerald Blaze says:
AHHH!!

kalfalfa says:
as usual

Emerald Blaze says:
what?

kalfalfa says:
"as if nothing happened"

Emerald Blaze says:
I know

-----

Well I'm mad I vented I hope she get's over herself, and leaves me alone!!!

last - next